出版書籍

戰爭的綠眼罩:戰爭期間的財務管理考察

這本專著對戰爭期間的軍事財務管理進行了試驗,檢查了各種衝突期間的財政表現和準備情況:第二次世界大戰、越南、沙漠盾牌/風暴行動和持久自由/伊拉克自由行動。這些衝突中的每一個都是獨一無二的,但每種情況都證實了對健全的財政管理和控制的迫切需要。

黑馬

美國空軍(退役)將軍拉里·O·斯賓塞 (Larry O. Spencer) 出生並成長於馬蹄鐵 - 華盛頓特區東南部一條艱難的內城街道 父母雙方都住在吉姆·克勞 (Jim Crow) 和“分離但平等”法律下的南部農村。

很偶然,斯賓塞加入了美國空軍,在那裡他繼續與 1970 年代的種族動盪作鬥爭。一位高級士官在斯賓塞身上看到了希望,並指導他獲得了大學學位併申請了他表現出色的軍官培訓學校。 

他最終成為空軍第三十七任副參謀長,使他成為僅有的九名晉升為四星的非裔美國人之一。斯賓塞以他從內城到五角大樓的旅程中學到的人生教訓結束了他的歷史性攀登。

Published Books

The Green Eyeshades of War: An Examination of Financial Management during War

This monograph puts military financial management during war on trial, examining fiscal performance and readiness during various conflicts: World War II, Vietnam, Operations Desert Shield/Storm, and Operations Enduring Freedom/Iraqi Freedom. Each of these conflicts is unique, yet each situation validated the critical need for sound fiscal management and controls.

Dark Horse

Gen. Larry O. Spencer, USAF (Ret.), was born and raised on the Horseshoe--a tough inner-city street in southeast Washington D.C. Both parents lived in the rural south under Jim Crow and "separate but equal" laws.

Quite by chance, Spencer enlisted in the U.S. Air Force where he continued to struggle with the racial turmoil of the 1970s. A senior non-commissioned officer saw promise in Spencer and guided him to obtain a college degree and apply for Officer Training School where he excelled. 

He ultimately became the Air Force's thirty-seventh vice chief of staff, making him one of only nine African Americans promoted to four stars. Spencer concludes his historic climb with life lessons learned on his journey from the inner city to the Pentagon.